International Commission on Microbiological Specifications for Foods (ICMSF)
Home    About Us
Evaluating issues and making timely contributions on newly emerging food safety concerns.


Ivan Parkin Award Lecture

Dr. Jeff Farber's presentation of the Ivan Parkin Award Lecture, during the opening session of the Annual Meeting of the International Association for Food Protection, held in St. Louis, Missouri, on July 31st, 2016.

Professor Leon Gorris - Fellows Award

Leon Gorris receiving Fellows Award

Professor Leon Gorris, Unilever, receiving his Fellows Award from the Past President of the International Association for Food Protection, Dr. Don Zink . The Fellows Award honours and recognizes IAFP Members who have contributed to the Association and its Affiliates with distinction over an extended period of time.

Leon Felloes induction

Professor Leon Gorris, Unilever, at his induction as a Fellow of the International Academy of Food Science and Technology. The Award was presented by President of IAoFST; Dr. Ruth Oniang’o and President Elect; Dr. Paul Singh. IAoFST is a group of elected and distinguished Food Scientists and Technologists who advice the International Union of Food Science and Technology regarding its position statements.

> Recent Publications

Need to contact ICMSF?

> Downloads

ICMSF has developed software tools:

  • to determine the performance of statistical sampling plans that are used to assess the microbiological quality of batches of food, and;
  • to validate the efficacy of measures to control microbial contamination of foods using the Food Safety Objective approach.

The Commission has also prepared documents that explain the use of both tools. To access these documents and to download the Programs (which run in Microsoft® Excel®), follow this link.

Codex Activities

View recent developments in food standards, guidelines and related texts.